SISU, HUESERA, IRATI, and Quentin Dupieux Win Big at Sitges 2022

Editor, Canada; Montréal, Canada (@bonnequin)
SISU, HUESERA, IRATI, and Quentin Dupieux Win Big at Sitges 2022

The Sitges International Fantastic Film Festival of Catalonia wrapped up this past weekend. The festival was fully back in person, and it was wonderful to experience the energy of this wonderful place once more. And to see so many amazing films. You can scroll through our feed to see what filkms caught our fancy. Several we covered, both at Sitges and at other festivals, walked away with awards. The Finish action film Sisu was the big winner in the official competition, with four awards, but other films stood out as well, including Irati, Nightsiren, and Huesera. Also perhaps in a first, French filmmaker Quentin Dupieux won for the screenplays of both his films that played at the festival. Check out the awards list below, hopefully you have a chance to see some of these winners soon.


Official Fantàstic Selection
Best Feature Film
Sisu (Jalmari Helander)
Special Jury Award in the Official Fantàstic Selection  (sponsored by Sunglass Hut)
Project Wolf Hunting (Kim Hong-sun)

Best direction (sponsored by Moritz)
Award goes to:
Ti West for Pearl
Special mention:
Tereza Nvotová for Nightsiren
Best Actress (sponsored by So de tardor)
Award goes to:
Mia Goth for Pearl
Special mention for:
Natalia Germani & Eva Mores for Nightsiren

Best Actor (sponsored by Vilamòbil)
Jorma Tommila for Sisu
Best Screenplay
Quentin Dupieux for Smoking Causes Coughing & Incredible But True
Best Special, Visual or Makeup Effects (sponsored by Kelonik)
Ex-aequo award for:
Ego (Hatching)
Special mention for:
Project Wolf Hunting

Best Music (sponsored by Primavera Sound)
Juri Seppä & Tuomas Wäinölä for Sisu

Best Cinematography (sponsored by Lavazza)
Kjell Lagerroos for Sisu

Best Feature Film
Jerk (Gisèle Vienne)
Best Direction
Martika Ramirez Escobar for Leonor Will Never Die
Best Short Film
Flashback Before Death (Rii Ishihara & Hiroyuki Onogawa)
Méliès d'Argent Award for the Best European Fantastic Genre Feature Film
Nightsiren (Tereza Nvotová)
Méliès d'Argent Award for the Best European Fantastic Genre Short Film
La machine d’Alex (Mael Le Mée)

Best Short Film (sponsored by Fotogramas)
The Newt Congress (Matthias Sahli & Immanuel Esser)
José Luis Guarner Critics' Award for Best Feature Film
Something in the Dirt (Aaron Moorhead & Justin Benson)
Citizen Kane Award for Best New Director
Michelle Garza por Huesera

Best Animated Feature Film
La otra forma (Diego Guzmán)
Best Animated Short Film
Ecorchée (Joachim Hérissé)

Best feature film in the Òrbita Section
H4Z4RD (Jonas Govaerts)

Blood Window Award for Best Feature Film
Huesera (Michelle Garza)

Brigadoon Paul Naschy Award for the Best Short Film
El semblante (Raúl Cerezo y Carlos Moriana)

Carnet Jove Jury Award for Best Feature Film
You Won’t Be Alone (Goran Stolevski)
Carnet Jove Jury Award for Best Sitges Documentary Film
Jurassic Punk (Scott Leberecht)

Best Direction-Production
Ariadna Pastor por Tornar a casa
Best Screenplay
Ariadna Pastor por Tornar a casa
Best Original Music
Valentín Cremona por Sweet Side

Grand People's Choice Award for Best Feature Film (sponsored by La Vanguardia)
Irati (Paul Urkijo)
Panorama Fantàstic People’s Choice Award
Deadstream (Joseph Winter & Vanessa Winter)
Focus Asia People’s Choice Award
The Roundup (Lee Sang-yong)
Midnight X-treme People’s Choice Award
Sissy (Kane Senes & Hannah Barlow)

Screen Anarchy logo
Do you feel this content is inappropriate or infringes upon your rights? Click here to report it, or see our DMCA policy.

More about Sisu

More about Huesera

More about Irati

More about Pearl

More about Incredible but True

More about Nightsiren

More about Leonor Will Never Die

More about Sissy

Around the Internet