RAW, THE AUTOPSY OF JANE DOE and More Win at Monster Fest 2016

Editor, Canada; Montréal, Canada (@bonnequin)
RAW, THE AUTOPSY OF JANE DOE and More Win at Monster Fest 2016

Monster Fest, one of Australia's best genre fests, wrapped up this past weekend and with it some awards love to some of the many great films to grace our genre-loving screens this year. Raw, Julia Ducournau's debut feature and a big hit on the festival circuit, won both the top Golden Monster Award, and the award for Best FX. Australian film Safe Neigbourhood, also won two awards, for Best Australian film and Best Male Performance for Levi Miller; and A Dark Song won double, for Best Cinematography and Best Score.

Other notable winners in the feature films catageory include The Autopsy of Jane Doe for Best International Feature; Prevenge won the Monster Innovation Award and Bartosz M. Kowalski won Best Director for his film Playground.

Monster Fest also gives a lot of love to short films, with plenty of awards to go around. André Øvredal (director of The Autopsy of Jane Doe) won Best International Short for his film The Tunnel. Najarra Townsend picked up yet another (deserved) award for her performance in Jill Gevargizian's The Stylist. And Alice Waddington's glorious black-and-white Disco Inferno won for Best Cinematography.

Full details and list of winners in the press release below.

The features jury, consisting of Fantastic Fest head programmer Evrim Ersoy, filmmaker Donna McRae and longtime screen critic Simon Foster awarded the festival’s top prize, The Golden Monster, to Julia Ducournau’s Raw, with Ducournau in person to accept her award, beautifully designed and sculpted by Rain Gidley Studios. Raw also walked away with an honour for best FX. “Raw is a tour de force of invention, innovation and storytelling,” says juror Donna McRae, “A film that celebrates appetite and difference.” 

Feature film awards also went to André Øvredal’s The Autopsy of Jane Doe, dual awards for the Australian home invasion feature Safe Neighbourhood (including a Best Performance award for young actor Levi Miller), Bartosz M. Kowalski’s Playground, Alice Lowe’s Prevenge, Sophia Takal’s Always Shine and more.

In the short film category, jurors Barbara Creed (author of the seminal book The Monstrous-Feminine), filmmaker Heidi Lee Douglas and visiting television scholar Amanda Reyes handed top awards to André Øvredal’s The Tunnel, Kristy Guevara-Flanagan’s documentary short What Happened to Her and Kiefer Findlow’s Insomnolence, while the Trasharama Program gave its Golden Lomax Award to Finnish director Chrzu Lindstrom’s The Contract and its inaugural Encouragement Award to Australian filmmaker Frank Daft for Blown Away.

“There were huge waves of emotions running through the films,” says short film juror Amanda Reyes, “whether it be legitimate fear and terror, or grief or even wildly raucous humor. Insomnolence, which won the Best Australian Short category is a prime example of combining terror and sadness in unique ways that sat deeply with the jury. Same with The Tunnel, which won for Best International Short. The Tunnel is visually stunning, but it is the tragedy held within the simple gut punch ending that made it an unforgettable experience.” 


Feature Films:

Golden Monster: RAW (Julia Ducournau, France)

Best International Feature: THE AUTOPSY OF JANE DOE (André Øvredal, USA)

Best Australian Feature: SAFE NEIGHBORHOOD (Chris Peckover, Australia)

Monster Innovation Award: PREVENGE (Alice Lowe, UK)

Best Performance (Male): Levi Miller, SAFE NEIGHBOURHOOD (Chris Peckover, Australia)

Best Performance (Female): Mackenzie Davis, ALWAYS SHINE (Sophia Takal, USA)


Best Director: PLAYGROUND (Bartosz M. Kowalsi, Poland)

Best Cinematography: A DARK SONG (Liam Gavin, Ireland/UK)

Best Score: A DARK SONG (Liam Gavin, Ireland/UK)

Best FX: RAW (Julia Ducournau, France)

Special Mention: AUTOHEAD (Rohit Mittal, India)

Short Films:

Best International Short: THE TUNNEL (André Øvredal, Norway)
Best Australian Short: INSOMNOLENCE (Kiefer Findlow, Australia)

Best Victorian Short: SECRETIONS (Goran Spoljaric, Australia)

Best Director: WHAT HAPPENED TO HER (Kristy Guevara-Flanagan, USA)


Best Performance: Najarra Townsend, THE STYLIST (Jill Gevargizian, USA)

Best Effects: THE PAST INSIDE THE PRESENT (James Siewert, USA)

Best Cinematography: DISCO INFERNO (Alice Waddington, Spain)

Best Score: IMITATIONS (Fabian Velasco & Milos Mitrovic, Canada)

Honourable Mentions:

Best Villain: O CHRISTMAS TREE (Greg Kovacs, Canada)

Best Animation: THE ITCHING (Diane Bellino, USA)

Honorable Mention for short we'd like to see made into a feature: DAWN OF THE DEAF (Rob Savage, UK)

Trasharama Awards:

Trasharama Golden Lomax Award: THE CONTRACT (Chrzu Lindstrom, Finland)
Trasharama Encouragement Award: BLOWN AWAY (Frank Daft, Australia)

“Monster’s Choice” Audience Awards:

Best Feature: MONDO YAKUZA (Addison Heath, Australia)
Best Short: Tie: DRAGON FORCE (Stuart Simpson, Australia) / A HELL OF A DAY (Evan Hughes, Australia)

Screen Anarchy logo
Do you feel this content is inappropriate or infringes upon your rights? Click here to report it, or see our DMCA policy.

More about Raw

More about Prevenge

More about Always Shine

More about A Dark Song

More about Autohead

Around the Internet