ActionFest '11: Award Winners

Contributing Writer; Toronto, Canada (@triflic)
ActionFest '11:  Award Winners
With ActionFest well under way, they handed the festival awards today with many a montage and tribute.   Buddy Joe Hooker, Stunts Unlimited, Michael Jai White, Richard Ryan and their 30 seconds of Action film Contest, before handing out the Awards, the Best Film in Competition went to A Lonely Place To Die, whose director, Julian Gilbey is sitting behind me as I type this watching the John Saxon Drive-In classic The Glove here in the Action Lounge, waiting to introduce his film to the ActionFest audiences momentarily.  

The entire set of Awards announced this afternoon are below:

Best Action Sequence:  Tomorrow When the War Began (a nighttime garbage truck and  armed dune buggy chase which ends in a bit of vehicular tetherball!)

Best Stuntwork:  Team Bangkok Knockout (specifically for a massive stunt sequence involving the films entire cast in the frame kicking each others asses)

Best Director:  Julian Gilbey (A Lonely Place To Die)

Best Film:  A Lonely Place To Die

Producer of the Year:  Somsak Techaratanapresert (Chocolate, Ong Bak, Raging Phoenix)

Stunt Co-Ordinator of the Year:  Russell Towery (Pirates of the Caribbean, Zombieland, Robocop)

Man of Action:  Michael Jai White (Black Dynamite, Blood & Bone, The Dark Knight)

Actionfest Lifetime Achievement Award:  Buddy Joe Hooker (First Blood, Deathproof, The Wraith, Hooper and too many others to count!)
Screen Anarchy logo
Do you feel this content is inappropriate or infringes upon your rights? Click here to report it, or see our DMCA policy.
Julian GilbeyWill GilbeyAlec NewmanEd SpeleersMelissa GeorgeKate MagowanActionAdventureCrime

More about A Lonely Place To Die

Around the Internet