Fantasia 2012 Award Winners: Doomsday Book, Toad Road, Crave and King of Pigs

Contributing Writer; Toronto, Canada (@triflic)
Fantasia 2012 Award Winners:   Doomsday Book, Toad Road, Crave and King of Pigs
As another fantastic edition, the sweet sixteen, of Fantasia wraps up, the Juries are in with the fests winners.  And the two big ones are Kim Jee-woon and Yim Pil Sung's science fiction anthology Doomsday Book, which one the Best Feature film and documentary/horror fusion Toad Road which won best Director, Jason Banker, and Best Actor, James Davidson.  Korea proved very popular, winning the inaugural Satoshi Kon award for best Animated film at the festival, with Yeon Sang-ho's King of Pigs getting the honour.  Horror descent into madness, Crave, won best first feature for Charles de Lauzirika.

The rest of the award winners, and the Juries that picked them, can be found in Fantasia's full press release below.

Feature Film Jury

President: Gabriel Pelletier, with Jay Baruchel, Sylvain Krief and Maggie Lee.


Cheval Noir Award for Best FilmDOOMSDAY BOOK by Kim Jee-woon and Yim Pil-sung

The film impressed the jury by the intelligence and originality it displayed in its efforts to imagine the near future and its impending doom through a collection of short films, all the while displaying mastery in every artistic aspects of the production.


Best Director: Jason Banker, TOAD ROAD

Best Screenplay: Alberto Marini, SLEEP TIGHT

Best Actor: James Davidson, TOAD ROAD

Best Actress: Majiana Jankovic, BEAST


Special Mention: AnnaLynne McCord, EXCISION

With her fearless performance in Excision, AnnaLynne McCord has created something beautiful, horrifying and altogether truthful. Her staggering work is a thesis statement on acting and a gift to the audience.


First Feature Jury

President: Jorge Michel Grau, with Michael Biehn, Travis Crawford, Anne Delseth, Jeff Deutchman and Sonya Kim.


New Flesh Award for Best First FeatureCRAVE by Charles de Lauzirika 

This impressive debut captivated the jury with its remarkable production value. Its efficient storytelling and intelligent internal dialogue, generously embracing the author's personality, provided a riveting portrait of a road to madness.


Special MentionTHE KING OF PIGS by Yeon Sang-ho

The jury wanted to highlight this rewardingly intense, merciless and grueling look at bullying and violence, that provides a powerful message that's still sadly relevant today, in any culture.


Animation Jury

President: Robert Morgan, with Patrick Doyon and √Črik Goulet


Satoshi Kon Award for Achievement in AnimationTHE KING OF PIGS by Yeon Sang-ho

For its shocking and haunting narrative, finely tuned screenplay and confident visual style, punctuated with acidic hallucinatory visions. A distinctive and powerful vision of school-as-hell, and its devastating effects on later life.

Best Animated Short FilmIT'S SUCH A BEAUTIFUL DAY by Don Hertzfeldt

For its perfect marriage of form and content - An amazing trip of a film that creatively uses animation to explore memory, mortality and all of those little fears about our lives that sneak up in the early hours of the morning when we can't sleep.


Special Award for Technical AccomplishmentBYDLO by Patrick Bouchard


International Short Film Jury

President: Samuel Archibald, with Ant Timpson and Marc Walkow


Best International ShortVIDEOBOY by Stian Kristiansen

A touching yet disturbing coming-of-age story, beautifully shot and superbly cast, that makes homage to horror films of the '80s and captures that era with great accuracy.


Special MentionLEYENDA by Pau Teixidor

A classic fairy-tale-gone-real that goes into great extremes of both realism and onirism, superbly photographed and edited, and boasting impressive performances by the young actresses.

Screen Anarchy logo
Do you feel this content is inappropriate or infringes upon your rights? Click here to report it, or see our DMCA policy.
Jason BankerJames DavidsonSara Anne JonesWhitleigh HigueraJamie SieboldHorror

More about Toad Road

Around the Internet