St Kilda 2013 Awards: JOEY, EXPLOSIONS, TIDIEST TOWN 2002 Get Gongs

Contributing Writer; Melbourne, Australia
to Vote
St Kilda 2013 Awards: JOEY, EXPLOSIONS, TIDIEST TOWN 2002 Get Gongs
We've written about the SoundKilda awards already, and here are the results of the St Kilda Film Festival awards, which may sound similar but are a very different series of gongs given at the same festival to reward the 100 Australian short films that are part of the program. There were only 99 shorts this year, as You Like It, I Love It was withdrawn from the festival at the last minute. In any case there were plenty of very high quality films screening, and it's nice to see many of the big winners were shorts that ScreenAnarchy highlighted before and during the festival.

While many had predicted a main prize sweep from Yardbird, subtle Melbourne drama Joey was instead the underdog that dominated the big prizes, with John Evagora's black and white short winning Best Short Film and Best Director. Pablo Labanino and Daniel Agdag also won Best Editing for Joey and its lead actor Steve Mouzakis won Best Actor. The latter was a strange category as they rolled both actor and actress into the same award presumably for some silly politically-correct reason, whereas a short film festival that showcases the work of hundreds of actors really should segment this award into two categories. Anything else shortchanges actors' work and doesn't recognise the subtle nuances that differentiate performances by each gender. We are not a homogeneous mass of genderless bodies just yet surely?

The prized Craft and Visual Effects Awards went to director Christopher Frey for Explosions (see the short here) while Best Documentary went to Anne-Maree Shelton's Tidiest Town 2002, another title profiled on ScreenAnarchy before the festival. See the full list of winners below.

Best Short Film
Winner: Joey - Dir. John Evagora / Prod. Polly Staniford
Commendation: Tender - Dir. Jessica Redenbach / Prod. Cecilia Ritchie

Craft Award
Explosions - Dir. Christopher Frey / Prod. Christopher Frey

Best Director
Winner: Joey - Dir. John Evagora
Commendation: Arc - Dir. Max Doyle

Best Achievement in Cinematography
Yardbird - Adam Arkapaw

Best Achievement in Screenplay
The Road Home - Denie Pentecost

Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking
She. Say. - Dir. Leah Purcell / Prod. Bain Stewart and David Jowsey

Best Documentary
Tidiest Town 2002 - Dir. Anne-Maree Shelton / Prod. Anne-Maree Shelton

Best Animation
Sleight of Hand - Dir. Michael Cusack / Prod. Richard Chataway

Best Comedy
Gus - Dir. Andrew Martin / Prod. Andrew Martin

Best Achievement in Editing
Joey - Pablo Labanino and Daniel Agdag

Best Achievement in Sound - Post Production
Men of the Earth - Andrew Kavanagh & Benjamin Holmes

Best Actor
Steve Mouzakis - Joey

Best Achievement Visual Effects
Explosions - Christopher Frey

Best Achievement in Production Design
The Hoarders - Jessica Meyer

Best Original Score
Yardbird - Elliott Wheeler

SBS2 TV Award
Thin Air - Dir. Natalie Nalesnyik / Prod. Dan Gregg

Under the Radar - Best Youth Short Film
Resistance - Dir. Blake Borcich / Prod. Blake Borcich

Audience Award: 
Dave's Dead - Dir. Alethea Jones / Prod. Julian Costanzo, Luke Ryan
to Vote
Screen Anarchy logo
Do you feel this content is inappropriate or infringes upon your rights? Click here to report it, or see our DMCA policy.

More about St Kilda Film Festival

Around the Internet