Community Content

Grand Jury Prize Winners Announced for the 2016 Sherman Oaks Film Festival

Teri Gamble
to Vote
Grand Jury Prize Winners Announced for the 2016 Sherman Oaks Film Festival

Los Angeles, CA – December 13, 2016 - The grand jury prize winners for the inaugural Sherman Oaks Film Festival have been announced. The Sherman Oaks Film Festival was founded by longtime residents and movie veterans alike; the festival looks to showcase the best undiscovered movies in the heart of Los Angeles. The one-week long film festival ran November 13-20, 2016.

Grand Jury Prize Winners - 2016


Narrative Feature Film


The Head Thieves (82 minutes) Three brothers develop an elaborate plan to recover stolen cash and go on the run.


Written & Directed by Mike Hermosa

Produced by Mickey Gooch Jr.

Starring Mickey Gooch Jr., Dante Basco, Dion Basco, Sandy Martin, BoJesse Christopher, Davison Locksley, Johnny Bananas


Narrative Feature Film


Search Engines (95 minutes) Sanity and relationships are put to the test when mysterious circumstances force a family to survive the annual American Thanksgiving holiday without their cell phones.


Written and Directed by: Russell Brown

Produced by: Russell Brown, Kerry Barden, John Baumgartner

Starring Joely Fisher, Connie Stevens, Daphne Zuniga, Natasha Wagner, and Barry Watson.


Documentary Film


Marsha Hunt's Sweet Adversity (100 minutes) The amazing life story of Marsha Hunt, who was discovered at age 17 by Hollywood in 1935 and proceeded to make 54 films in 17 years until becoming Blacklisted, and then transitioned to a career as one of Hollywood's first celebrity activists.


Directed by Roger C. Memos

Written by Joan Cohen, Richard Adkins, Roger C. Memos

Produced by Joan Cohen, Richard Adkins, Roger C. Memos


Narrative Short Film


Whiskey Sour (6 minutes) A career hitman is cosmically outmatched by his next mark.


Written & Directed by Eli Stern

Produced by: Tony Spiridakis, Shannon Goldman, Ariel Eliaz

Executive Produced by Jay Stern, Vicki Horwits

Cinematography by Thomas Taugher

Starring Ariel Eliaz, Donnie Lyons


Narrative Short Film


This Modern Man Is Beat (17 minutes) In a world of cultural confusion and erroneous judgement, Habib bin Habib al Fulan pawns his last possession and reconciles with his American wife.


Directed by Alex Merkin

Screenplay by David J Schroeder. Based on a short story by Fawzy Zablah

Produced by David J Schroeder; Tommy May, Caity Ware, Shar Yonan, Michelle Romano

Starring Jordi Vilasuso, Sheena Colette, Brad Greenquist, Mercer Boffey, Kent Klineman


Narrative Short Film


The Kidnapping Of A Fish (short) A mild mannered guy is forced to consider his girlfriend is the reason for his unexpected situation in this mixed genre film. Equal parts comedy, drama and suspense wrapped up in a fun ride of a film.


Written & Directed by Philip A. Ramos

Produced by John D. Hay

Starring Stephen Friedrich, Theodora (Woolley) Miranne


Music Video


KOOL (5 minutes) Sometimes true love transcends time


Directed by LazRael Lison

Written by Celeste Stoney, LazRael Lison

Produced by LazRael Lison, Ray Stoney, Celeste Stoney, Tatiana Chekhova

Starring Celeste Stoney, Ray Stoney


Screenplay (Unproduced)


The Savage Land Desperate to protect his beloved, a naïve hired hand enlists a cynical U.S. marshal to guard her wagon train against a mysterious killer stalking pioneers on the Overland Trail.


Written by Mario Rivas


For more information about the Sherman Oaks Film Festival please visit their website:

to Vote
Screen Anarchy logo
Do you feel this content is inappropriate or infringes upon your rights? Click here to report it, or see our DMCA policy.
Documentary FilmFilm FestivalGrand Jury Prize WinnersHead ThievesIndie FilmKOOLMarsha Hunts Sweet AdversityMusic VideoNarrative FeatureNarrative Short FilmScreenplay CompetitionSearch EnginesSherman Oaks Film FestivalThe Kidnapping of a FishThe Savage LandThis Modern Man is BeatWhiskey Sour