Complete List of Sitges Winners Announced!

Founder and Editor; Toronto, Canada (@AnarchistTodd)
to Vote

Last night the complete list of Sitges award winners was announced, and while a combination of alcohol and air travel has prevented me from posting the news until now, here are my personal highlights. There are several juries on hand and several awards categories at Sitges, so hit the links below to get the complete list of winners from all juries.

There were a few big surprises on the night, the first being that major festival fave Let The Right One In - previously announced as the European Federation of Fantastic Films Festival's Golden Melies Award as the year's best European genre film - was completely shut out of the Sitges awards. Instead, Jennifer Lynch's Surveillance to home the best film prize while Kim Ji Woon took best director for The Good The Bad And The Weird, Brian Cox took best actor for Red and - another surprise, this one a very welcome one - Semra Turan took best actress for Fighter.

I served on a jury responsible for giving three awards at the festival and those three went to The Chaser in the Orient Express category for best Asian film, John Bergin's From Inside as best animated feature and Rodrigo Gudino's The Facts In The Case of Mr Hollow as best animated short.

Other notable awards went to the new Coffin Joe film, The Embodiment of Evil, Mamoru Oshii's Sky Crawlers, Pascal Laugier's Martyrs and Albert Arriza's Ramirez. Hit the links below for all the winners in all categories.

to Vote
Screen Anarchy logo
Do you feel this content is inappropriate or infringes upon your rights? Click here to report it, or see our DMCA policy.

More from Around the Web

Click here for the main competition announcement
Click here for the Noves Vision announcement
Click here for the Orient Express announcement
Click here for the Audience Award announcement
Click here for the Anima't Announcement
Click here for the Young Jury announcement
Click here for the Silver Melies announcement
Click here for the Critics Jury announcement
Click here for the Brigadoon announcement

Ard VijnOctober 13, 2008 10:49 PM

Best soundtrack goes to Kenji Kawai for Sky Crawlers? Damn!

When the hell do I finally get to see this film?